Tags

, , , , ,

The kids were in the same class.
Just get talking I guess when you see the same people every morning.

One of the parent’s invited everyone round for a BBQ to celebrate the Melbourne Cup, a horse race. I’m not the most sociable bunny, but I owed it to my daughter to get to know the parents of the kids she was at school with. That, and I could do with some friends.

As usual, the other adults more adept at talking, began chatting amongst themselves and drinking. I was still feeling put out that even though it was a day off my hubby decided to work (from home mind you) instead of coming along.
The rich enough to be girly, stay-at-home mums were just talking girly house crap, I didn’t exactly fit in and the children needed looking after, so I went to play with them.
I realized one of the other parents cared enough about playing with the kids too. The children loved having extra attention.
“I heard you like Les Claypool?” He casually mentioned,

“How did you know that?” still naive about Internet information, I pondered how he knew about my music tastes.

“On your ‘Meeting Place’ page! Anyway, I’m going to see the guy from Innocent Criminals, going solo in the city next week.”

“Sounds cool”

I hadn’t done anything for me in a really long while. Was he asking me? Perhaps I should just go and check out the music, I thought. No harm can come from that? Perhaps we could just be friends and like the same music? Like hanging out with my brother?

My husband would never take me out. The last time my brother invited us out, got me tickets to see someone I really liked, for my birthday, my hubby did not look like he enjoyed himself at all. It just made me feel bad.

I went in the end, after much internal debating and rationalisation and we realised we had more in common than we thought.

